Welcome to ExtremeHW

Welcome to ExtremeHW, register to take part in our community, don't worry this is a simple FREE process that requires minimal information for you to signup.

Registered users can: 

• Start new topics and reply to others.
  • Show off your PC using our Rig Creator feature.
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get updates.
  • Get your own profile page to customize.
  • Send personal messages to other members.
  • Take advantage of site exclusive features.
  • Upgrade to Premium to unlock additional sites features.
IGNORED

RTX 3090 'cooked' thermal compound

While preparing my 3090FTW3 for its new waterblock I noticed that the thermal compound was completely dry. The thermal pads were fine, and the compound on the core itself was a bit hard but not dry.

Now I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure that a thermal compound should not be this dried out. It broke here and there while removing the cooler and chunks fell down on the desk. I guess this is what you get if you run this type of card 24/7 for 8 months, though always below 70°C.

So I just wanted to share this with you all, I guess you can expect something like this with a powerful card. But after using it for only 8 months it might be a bit early for maintenance like changing the pads and compounds.

Edited by Bastiaan_NL
  • Thanks 2

Owned

CPU: Intel Core i9 13900KF
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z690 HERO
RAM: G.SKILL Trident Z5 6400CL30-38-38-28
PSU: Corsair AX1600i
GPU: Galax 4090 Hall Of Fame OCLabs Edition
Full Rig Info

2 hours ago, Bastiaan_NL said:

While preparing my 3090FTW3 for its new waterblock I noticed that the thermal compound was completely dry. The thermal pads were fine, and the compound on the core itself was a bit hard but not dry.