Welcome to ExtremeHW

Welcome to ExtremeHW, register to take part in our community, don't worry this is a simple FREE process that requires minimal information for you to signup.

Registered users can: 

• Start new topics and reply to others.
  • Show off your PC using our Rig Creator feature.
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get updates.
  • Get your own profile page to customize.
  • Send personal messages to other members.
  • Take advantage of site exclusive features.
  • Upgrade to Premium to unlock additional sites features.
IGNORED

Entering the VHS to digital conversion arena... anyone got handy experience?

GanjaSMK

You're just doing this casually? For what reason? What's the backstory to this? Do you already have the stuff you need to do it? What are you using to do it?

I have no experience with this, but I know that those old dual DVD and VHS players that would let you copy VHS to DVD are rare and expensive now, yet I see them often at thrift stores and it makes me want to buy them just to see if they work and try to sell them on ebay or something.

Owned

CPU: 5800x
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS TUF Gaming B550-Plus
RAM: XMP 3600mhz CL16
GPU: 7900XT
SOUNDCARD: Sound Blaster Z 5.1 home theater
MONITOR: 4K 65 inch TV
Full Rig Info

Yep I got some old stuff.  The JVC player/recorder I just picked up is DVD+VHS; direct transfer possible, but sadly the VHS is only 'HiFi' so it won't properly display SP tapes, which is what most of the content is that I have. 

I've got old family recordings, xmas, birthdays, easter, accolades like first communion etc, and plenty more (like dad's PGA stuff from the 80's and 90's, tony awards, etc from mom).  Plus I've got like original Peter Pan disney that I'd like to digitize for my personal library. 

What I bought YEARS ago was this VHS-to-DVD USB dongle from some rando company.  Got the software on CD and have a good key for it (VHS to DVD 4.0 by Honestech).