Welcome to ExtremeHW

Welcome to ExtremeHW, register to take part in our community, don't worry this is a simple FREE process that requires minimal information for you to signup.

Registered users can: 

• Start new topics and reply to others.
  • Show off your PC using our Rig Creator feature.
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get updates.
  • Get your own profile page to customize.
  • Send personal messages to other members.
  • Take advantage of site exclusive features.
  • Upgrade to Premium to unlock additional sites features.
IGNORED

Ryzen 3600 Help?

pio

Hey guys,

So I'm not a complete noob, but with Ryzen 3000 I might as well be.  Any guides or tips?  I seem to be hitting a thermal wall and I can't for the life of me figure out why.  Using PBO and -100mV I can get 4.275GHz boost clocks, pretty consistantly.  Using manual vcore and multis I can push 4.3GHz, 1.27v but I hit 95*C near immediately on SmallFFT's on P95.  I'm sure this chip could do 4.3+ if I can figure out why its overheating so drastically.  I see people all the time on other forums saying 1.30v+ is safe.  PBO seems to be "safe" where its at since it throttles down to like 4.15GHz under smallfft's.

Any ideas?  Cooler is a Dark Rock Pro4, and the TIM application should be near perfect I've reseated like 20 times....pretty sure I'm a pro at that now.

EDIT:
I do now have a EKWB 240mm AIO I could replace the Dark Rock with.  However I don't think my cooler is currently saturated with a 65w TDP chip running at PBO.  It says 250w TDP right on the box.

Edited by pioneerisloud

Owned

CPU: Ryzen 7900x
GPU: Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX
PSU: Cooler Master 850w Platinum
CPU COOLER: Cooler Master MasterLiquid PL360 Flux
MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte B650 Aorus AX
SSD/NVME: Solidigm P41 Plus 2TB Gen4 NVME
RAM: G.Skill Flare X DDR5-6000
CASE: HAF700 Berserker
Full Rig Info

Too much

Owned

CPU: AMD Opteron 180 @ 3.0GHz
MOTHERBOARD: Asus A8N SLI
RAM: 4x1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 @ 2.5-3-3-6
PSU: eVGA 600BQ